Home > Telcos, Govt Lost Rs. 1 Billion, Rs. 300 Million in Revenues, Taxes for Suspending Services :

Telcos, Govt Lost Rs. 1 Billion, Rs. 300 Million in Revenues, Taxes for Suspending Services :

Mobile phone companies inured a combined loss of Rs. 1 billion during two days of service closure on 9th and 10th of Muharram, industry sources revealed to ProPakistani.

Officials of mobile phone companies, while speaking with ProPakistani, estimated that as many as 100 million mobile phone customers were impacted and were deprived of voice and data services during the service suspension of 9th and 10th of Moharram.

Based on telecom ARPUs (Average Revenue Per User) and service suspension duration, telecom experts said that mobile phone companies lost at least Rs. 1 billion during two days.

Not to mention, an additional Rs. 300 million was recorded as losses for government under the head of various taxes that it couldn’t collect due to service suspension.

Damages inured by customers, due to in-availability of mobile phone services, including over-all business loss, emergencies, lack of communication and similar heads are not accounted for in above mentioned figures.

Essential rental for services/packages, that is paid in advance or for post-paid customers who pay for services on monthly basis is also not included in above mentioned figures.

It maybe recalled that Pakistan Telecommunication Authority, on directions of Interior Ministry, had ordered mobile phone companies and wireless internet companies to suspend services on 9th and 10th of Moharram due to security reasons.

While remaining in-line with national security, ProPakistani hadn’t shared the list of cities where services remained suspended as such before-hand information could alert anti-state elements.

Below is the list of all cities and towns where mobile phone services and wireless internet services remained suspending during both days of 9th and 10th Moharram.

PunjabLahore: 10KM Radius Around Karbala Gamay Shah (including Islampura , Purani Anarkali and Area from Nisar Haveli to Karbala Gamay Shah )SheikhupuraCity SheikhupuraCity Ferozewala (including Islamia Colony)City FarooqabadCity MureedkeyCity SharaqpurKasurCity KasurCity /Moza MaanCity Kot Radha KishanCity ChunianCity PattokiCity Phool NagarGujranwalaGujranwala CityRasool NagarAlipur ChathaHafizabadCity HafizabadCity Pindi Bhattian (Including Chowk Dullah Bhatti located near Pindi Bhattian bypass on Chiniot – Jhang Road (approximately 2Kms form bypass) towards Pindibhattian city)GujratCity ShadlwalCity GujratCity Lala Musa (Including GT Road)Mandi Bahhu DinCity M.B. DinCity PhliyaCity MalkwalSialkot: City Area SialkotNarowalCity Narowal (including 4 Km Radius from Building of PS City Narowal)City Shakargarh (including 4 Km Redius from Chowk Hakeema, City Shakargarh)City Zafarwal (including 4 Km Radius from Building of PS Zafarwal)Rawalpindi: Rawalpindi City & CantonmentAttockCity AttockCity Pindi GhebCity MalhowaliCity Bhander JandCity JandCity JharmatJhelum: Jhelum City and CantonmentSargodhaCity SargodhaCity Faroka, PS TirkkhanwalaKhushabCity KhushabCity NoorpurCity  JauharabadMianwaliCity MianwaliDab BalochanPiplan CityMari IndusCity Paki Shah MardanCity Thamey Wali ChakralaKalabagh CityBhakkarBhakkar CityDarya Khan CityFaisalabad: Whole of Faisalabad DistrictJhang: Whole of Jhang DistrictMultan: Multan City & Cantt (including Surajmiani & Sahichawan)LodhranCity LodharnKehrorpacaCity DunvapurKhanewal: Whole district of KhanewalVehari: Whole district of Vehari including Burewala and MailsiSahiwalCity SahiwalCity ChichawatniOkaraCity OkaraCity RenalaCity DepalpurPakpattanCity PakpattanCity ArifwalaD.G. KhanCity DG KhanCity Kot ChuttaCity Taunsa Rajanpur: District Rajanpur (including Jampur and Fazalpur)Muzaffargarh: Whole District Muzaffargarh (including Kot Adu, Jatoi, Seetpur & Alipur)Layyah: Whole District LayyahBahawalpur: Whole District BahawalpurBahawalnagar: Whole District BahwalnagarR.Y.Khan: Whole District of R.Y.KhanChakwalCity ChakwalCity TalagangSindhSukkur: Whole District of SukkurShikarpur: Whole District of ShikarpurKhiarpur: Whole District of KhairpurLarkana: Whole District of LarkanaKambar Shahdadkot: Whole District of Kambar ShahdadkotHyderabad: Whole District of HyderabadBadin: Whole District of BadinKarachi: Whole District of KarachiKhyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK)AbbottabadAbbottabad City (including Markazi Imambargah, Diggi Mohallah, Shahzada Masjid Chowk, Gass Mandi, Fruit Market, Model Cafe Chowk, Katwali Chowk and Kutchery Road)HaripurHaripur City (Including Village Mankrai and adjacent areas)MansehraMansehra City (including Mohallah Mufti Abad PS City)Mardan: Mardan CityNowshera: Nowshera City and CantonmentLakki: Lakki CityBannuPS/Union Council JanikhelPS/Union Council MiryanPS/Union Council BakakhelPS/Union Council  HawaldPeshawar: Complete Peshawar City (From Hayatabad till Chamkani & from Sayfan Chowk till Warsak Road)
(it must include Walled city, GT road from Chamkani upto Khyber Road Cantonment area)KohatKohat CityUsterzai City/TownD.I.KhanI. Khan CityTehsil PaharpurTehsil KulachiTehsil ParoaTank: District Tank (including City Tank, Gara Baloch and Ranwal Garra Naurang)BalochistanQuetta: Quetta CityJaffarabad: District Jaffarabad (Including Usta Muhammad)Jhal Magsi: District Jhal Magsi (Including Gandhwana)Gilgit-BaltistanAll Gilgit-Baltistan – All DistrictsAJ&KMuzaffarabad:City MuzaffarabadCity/Town Garhi Dopatta & adjacent placesCity /Town MajohaiCity /Town ShahdrahMirpurCity MirpurCity DadyalGaseet PurKotli: District Kotli (including City Kotli, Sehnsa (Mera/Plate Sydan) & City Tla Pani)BhimberRawalakotSub-Division / City HajiraSub-Division / City AbbaspurBagh: Complete District Bagh (Including City Area Bagh and Namb Sydan)Haveli: City Haveli (Including Seerian (CDMA))

About Amin Khan

Amin Khan is a web developer, SEO expert, Online Mentor & marketer working from last 4 years on the internet and managing several successful websites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *