Home > Muharram preparations: Entry of 15 clerics barred

Muharram preparations: Entry of 15 clerics barred

ICT admin also bans 12 cleric­s, includ­ing Abdul Aziz from delive­ring public speech­es




They city administration has banned the entry of 15 clerics in the capital for two months. Additionally, clerics hailing from Islamabad have been restricted from delivering public speeches during Muharram. 

A senior official of the Islamabad Capital Territory Administration said entry of nine ulema of Deobandi sect and six from Fiqh-e-Jafria has been barred after a Special Branch report stated that they were involved in making inflammatory speeches creating sectarian hatred.


The notification issued by Deputy Commissioner Capt (retd) Mushtaq Ahmed states: “Following the report of the special branch, the administration is satisfied that sectarian agitators, firebrand speakers are likely to indulge in sectarian activities in this month therefore, their entry is banned in the city.”

Read: Gearing up for muharram: Home dept prepares code of conduct

The list of banned Deobandi clerics includes: Hafiz Muhammad Saddique from Wah Cantt, Ahle Sunnat Wal Jamaat (ASWJ) Lahore President Allama Tahir Arshad,  Maulana Muhammad Ilyas Ghuman from Sargodha;  ASWJ Punjab vice-president Muhammad Muavia Azam, Maulana Abdul Majeed Nadeem of Rawalpindi; Maulana Abdul Khaliq Rehmani, former president Sipah-e- Sahaba from Kabirwala Punjab; ASWJ deputy secretary general Maulana Masoodur Rehman Usmani; ASWJ Khanewal secretary-general Dr Khadim Dehloo, and Maulana Aurangzeb Farooqi, ASWJ’s general-secretary. Farooqi is presently on judicial remand after his recent arrest by the Counter-Terrorism Department Punjab for hate speech.

The banned Shia clerics include Allama Ghazanfar Tunsavi from Bahawalpur, Allama Jaffar Jato from Lahore; Allama Muzaffar Hussain Najfi from Rawalpindi; Zakir Maqbool Hassan from Chakwal; Iftikhar Hassan Naqvi from Mianwali, and Maulana Muhammad Iqbal from Chichawatni.

The 12 clerics restricted from addressing public gatherings belong to Deobandi, Shia and Barelvi sects. They include the cleric of Lal Masjid Maulana Abdul Aziz and Qari Ehsanullah, head of the F-8/3 seminary which was raided in August for allegedly harbouring suspects involved in the assassination of Punjab Home Minister Shuja Khanzada.

On the other hand, Islamabad Police have finalised security arrangements for Muharram and over 10,000 police officers will perform duties during processions, said SSP (Operations) Sajid Kiani.

The official said around 900 majalis would be held across the city during the month.

Kiani told The Express Tribune that a total of 909 majalis and 177 processions, including 159 traditional and 18 licenced ones will be held in the capital. The religious gatherings have been divided into three categories as per security plan and 122 majalis have been placed in Category A, 492 in Category B and 295 in Category C while 14 processions have been put in Category A, 91 in Category B and 72 in Category C. All SHOs have been directed to get complete biodata of volunteers performing security duties in the procession

TNFJ demands

Chief of the Tehreek-e-Nifaz-e-Fiqh-e-Jafaria (TNFJ) Agha Hamid Ali Moosavi, while announcing the 14 point code of azadari, demanded the government to ensure the implementation of 20 points of the national action plan in Muharram.

In a statement, the chief also demanded the government to start operation against banned outfits.

Published in The Express Tribune, October 14th, 2015.

About Amin Khan

Amin Khan is a web developer, SEO expert, Online Mentor & marketer working from last 4 years on the internet and managing several successful websites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *